Qualifications designed to include a range of content in technical, business and inter-personal areas relevant in today’s IT & Telecoms job roles. Includes Software Development, Web Development, Technical Support, Telecommunications and Databases, in addition to content from commercial applications such as Microsoft, Cisco, Oracle, VM Ware and CompTIA.

ITEC tutors deliver a work-based framework designed to develop knowledge and skills, a real alternative to GCSE’s and A-levels. Employers provide the practical experience, putting those skills to the test in a real work environment.


National Vocational Qualification (NVQ)

Comprising of a number of mandatory units and optional units agreed upon by the learner, employer and ITEC’s tutor which may include:

  • Installing and configuring ICT equipment and operating systems
  • Fibre optic cabling in an internal & external environment
  • Storing and retrieving information from manual or electronic filing systems
  • Installing, configuring and maintaining software
  • Testing ICT systems
  • Maintaining equipment and systems
Personal Learning & Thinking Skills (PLTS)

Modules within the Personal Learning and Thinking Skills criteria:

  • Independent Enquirers
  • Creative Thinkers
  • Reflective Learners
  • Team Workers
  • Self Managers
  • Effective Participators
Technical Certificate

To fulfil their Technical Certificate, learners normally receive teaching “off the job” for selected units ensuring they develop the skills, acquire knowledge or have the opportunity to undertake and gain these prior to the relevant assignment. At Level 2 there are normally two Technical Certificate units and at Level 3 there are normally three units which are delivered during a two day workshop at our training centres.

Functional Skills

Functional Skills are designed to aid young people and adults participate and succeed in life, learning and work, and include:

  • Maths
  • English
  • ICT
Employment Rights and Responsibilities
  • Contracts of Employment
  • Policies & Procedures
  • Equality & Diversity
  • Data Protection
  • General sources of information and advice

Progression – Advanced Apprenticeship (Level 3)

Learners may progress onto a Level 3 qualification as their job role expands to cover the creation of software applications and websites, maintenance and security of databases, installing and troubleshooting desktop PCs in roles including Software/Developer, Desktop Support Engineer, Network Planner, Database Administrator, Network Engineer and Software Tester.